top of page

Production 8: Culture Jamming and Remixing

I chose to do a culture jam that remixes the perspective on female Disney villains. I juxtaposed three Disney princesses with their villain counter parts, to reverse where the empathy is placed on the characters. I used lighting, contrast, and placement of text to make the Disney Villains appear to be misunderstood and tragic, and the Disney princesses to look superficial and arrogant. Also the text is lyrics from a Marina and the Diamonds song, "Teen Idle", to make commentary on how female Disney villains usually hate the princesses because they feel their youth is lost and the princesses are taking their youth for granted. Consequently, I want to carry on this Disney remix in my final project by creating a remix Video. I will use clips from The Little Mermaid, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty with the song "Teen Idle" overlapped with the clips.

TAGS

bottom of page